WSFA Small Press Award - Rules for 2014

Award: Original short fiction works (17,500 words or fewer) of imaginative literature (e.g., science fiction, fantasy, horror, speculative fiction or like literature) published by a small press.
Eligibility: Works published for the first time in the English language in 2013.
Eligible venues:
1. Books: Stories published in a book by a small press. A small press is defined as a hard copy print or web publication house releasing up to 45 titles in the year that the story is published.
2. Periodicals: Stories published in a periodical by a small press. Eligible paper periodicals are those with a circulation of fewer than 10,000 in the year that the story is published. Eligible web periodicals are those with fewer than 10,000 subscriptions in the year that the story is published. Periodicals must compensate the authors in some manner and authors must not contribute financially to the publication.

If you are unsure about eligibility, contact the .

  • Any story published in a periodical owned by a major publishing house or media producer, prior to publication in a small press venue, is not eligible for this award.
  • Publications released or sponsored by a large press, or by a press that publishes only a single author's work are not eligible for this Award.
  • No stories published on a website owned or operated by the author are eligable.
  • No graphic novels or comic books are eligible.
  • Stories published by WSFA Press or written by authors who are WSFA members are not eligible for this award.
Special Note: Any editor or publisher that is a member of WSFA and who have stories under their control which have been submitted to this award may NOT be on the Small Press Award Committee. They will not identify, discuss, or promote stories directly to WSFA members or in WSFA meetings during the election period. Any violation of this restriction, in the judgment of the Awards Committee, will result in that story or stories being declared ineligible.
Who may nominate stories: Small press publishers and periodicals may nominate up to three (3) stories, published by themselves or others. A writer may nominate one (1) story, published by herself/himself or others. A WSFA member may nominate one (1) story. If you are unsure about eligibility, contact the .
Submission procedure: Nominated stories MUST be submitted in electronic form, in any of the common formats (e.g., text, doc, rtf, pdf). Nominations should be sent to the . Indicate date of publication and publisher, and any other relevant information (e.g., url), in the accompanying email. The accompanying email should indicate the name of the person or entity that holds the copyright to the story. The story WILL NOT be circulated beyond WSFA and will be housed on a secure, password-protected website.
Submission Deadline: 5 April 2014.
Blind judging: Judging will be blind, that is the name of the author will be stripped from the story. Therefore, the story should be sent in a format that allows us to edit the file to remove any identifying features other than the story itself, and its title. For this reason, be sure to include the name of the author in the accompanying email message. Nominations which can not be easily edited will be returned once for resubmission. After that, the story will be ruled ineligable from that source.
Judging procedure: Initial screening will be done by a committee of five WSFA members, who will produce a list of 5-10 finalists. Final voting will be done by the members of WSFA.
Award presentation: The award, consisting of a small acrylic trophy, and a monetary prize of $500, will be presented at the annual WSFA convention, Capclave, held each year in October in the Washington, DC, area. The award winner and the publisher will be notified prior to the convention. The honorable mentions will each receive a certificate of recognition.
Contact information: .