WSFA Small Press Award - The Committee

Small Press Award Committee:
Courtni Burleson (2018-2019)
Roger Burns (2018-2019)
Cathy Green (2017-2018)
Kimberly Hargan (2017-2018)
Sam Lubell (2018-2019)
Carolyn Frank (Administrator)

WSFA Small Press Award - 2017

The WSFA Small Press Award honors the efforts of small press publishers in providing a critical venue for short fiction in the area of speculative fiction. The award showcases the best original short fiction published by small presses in the previous year (2016). An unusual feature of the selection process is that all voting is done with the identity of the author (and publisher) hidden so that the final choice is based solely on the quality of the story.

The winner is chosen by the members of the Washington Science Fiction Association and presented at their annual convention, Capclave, held this year on October 6-8th in Gaithersburg, Maryland.

The Washington Science Fiction Association is pleased to announce the Winner of the 2017 WSFA Small Press Award for Short Fiction (published in 2016)
The 2017 WSFA Small Press Award was presented by Neil Clarke, during the Capclave 2017 Convention in Gaithersburg Maryland. The winner of the 2017 WSFA Small Press Award was The Tomato Thief by Ursula Vernon, published in Apex Magazine (January 2016) and edited by Jason Sizemore.
The award was accepted by committee chair, Cathy Green on behalf of Ursula Vernon. Here's a copy of Ursula's Acceptance Speech, which was delivered by Neil.
The complete list of other finalists:
  • "Foxfire, Foxfire" by Yoon Ha Lee, published in Beneath Ceaseless Skies (March 2016) and edited by Scott H. Andrews
  • "Jupiter or Bust" by Brad R. Torgersen, published in Orson Scott Card's Intergalactic Medicine Show (March/ April 2016), edited by Edmund Schubert
  • "The Mytilenian Delay" by Neil James Hudson in Hyperpowers (May 2016), edited by Bascomb James, published by Third Flatiron Publishing
  • "Only Their Shining Beauty Was Left" by Fran Wilde, published in Shimmer Magazine (September 2016), edited by E. Catherine Tobler
  • "Radio Silence" by Walter H. Hunt in Alien Artifacts (2016), edited by Joshua Palmatier and Patricia Bray, published by Zombies Need Brains
  • "A Salvaging of Ghosts" by Aliette de Bodard, published in Beneath Ceaseless Skies (March 2016), edited by Scott H. Andrews
  • "Vengence Sewn With A Fey Cord" by Christine Lucas, published in The Future Fire (April 2016), edited by Djibril al-Ayad
  • "The Witch's Knives" by Margaret Ronald, published in Strange Horizons (October 2016), edited by Niall Harrison, Jane Crowley, Kate Dollarhyde, Lila Garrott, Catherine Krahe, An Owomoyela, and Vajra Chandrasekera
The first award was presented at the 2007 Capclave in Rockville Maryland and WSFA looks forward to continuing this tradition for many years to come. See our Past Winners page for full details of the winner and the other finalists.
See our Rules section for complete eligibility and nomination information.